Korea – Part 3 (Gangwon-do)

This is the last 2 days with apa in our adventure. Here, we explore the beautiful Gangwon province.

After Gyeongju, we slept at my dad’s friend’s house. The next day, we travel with them. They are a couple who loves having adventures on mountain ridges and great places of Korea. These days we haven’t been sleeping enough. We always wake up early. This time we woke up at 3AM. Plus I’m having an issue with my iPhone charger. It’s kind of broken inside. I need to plug and unplug many times til the charging icon appears. It’s because of my adapter, it’s loose on the outlet. I wasn’t briefed that the outlet would be different. Haha! Anyway this is about the adventure not the wifi.

We had a 2-hour drive from Suwon to Gangwon province. The first place we went to is a mountain. I don’t know the name of the mountain. It’s just a random mountain, I think. I was amazed at the sight of it. It’s in my bucket list to see a foggy mountain in real life and it was there right in front of me. Surrounding me.

IMG_9882 IMG_9931 IMG_9900 IMG_9886 IMG_9885 IMG_9883 IMG_9895 IMG_9901 IMG_9889 IMG_9910 IMG_9911 IMG_3152

We walked and walked until we saw this long sign blocking the way that tells us not to pass because we are not allowed to get something, I forgot, something like food or a produce that can be found the further we go. So we had to turn around. I was always behind them taking pictures of the beautiful scenery. They had no idea how awed I was inside. I was just using Canon G11 here. Everyone deserves to see this live.

This is the Skywalk

IMG_9954 IMG_9969

I have to say it’s pricey for the short moment you have here. It wasn’t long but I think it’s pretty worth it. Look at that view.

IMG_9979 

Photo ops by the flowered trees

IMG_9948 IMG_9947

IMG_8365IMG_9992

We went to ‘Jeongseon Auraji Rail Bike’ to buy our tickets for the rail bike but we had to wait for 2 hours. So while waiting, we had lunch and we went by the waterfalls.

IMG_3157 IMG_3155 IMG_0012 IMG_0019

Cherry blossoms

IMG_8378 IMG_3160 IMG_0023

My dad decided to go down the rocky path to the stream. And he asked me to join. We washed our hands on the ice-cold water.

IMG_3161 IMG_0033 IMG_0037 IMG_0035 IMG_0038

Waited around the rail bike area. This rail is no longer used by trains that’s why they turned it into something useful and profitable.

IMG_0007 IMG_0001 IMG_0073 IMG_0077

Our friends picking vegetables for our dinner. In this province, food is everywhere. You might just be stepping on it.

IMG_0082 IMG_0085 IMG_0086

And so we rode. It took us about 1 hour to finish and at the end, we all rode a cute train.

IMG_0090 IMG_0109 IMG_0114 IMG_0118 IMG_0120

I pedalled for about 90% of the time. Apa just slept and Kat biked for the last few minutes. It was really cold inside the tunnel. It wasn’t tiring. It was relaxing and at the same time pumps you because it’s so fun!

IMG_0121 IMG_0131 IMG_0149 IMG_0159 IMG_0170 IMG_0178 IMG_0186

AWESOME experience. Rail biking was my favorite. While biking, you will pass by a lot of beautiful sceneries. Farm fields, rivers, mountains. Simply breathtaking.

After that, we stayed in a small cottage. It’s a small place yet it’s very expensive and apa said it’s the cheapest because it’s more expensive if it’s seasonal. Whatever, I’m not paying. Hahaha!

So this is our dinner. Various vegetables picked and packed. The beef was so good!

IMG_0190

I didn’t bring a lot of clothes on this trip to the province because I don’t want my shoulders to ache from bringing a lot of stuff and I’m using a longchamp shoulder bag. I badly needed a backpack. So we had to reuse some clothes (except under garments, duh). I think it’s okay cause you don’t really sweat in this temperature. Also my keds sneakers has a hole underneath. Really didn’t know what to bring. I just grabbed whatever warms me. Lesson learned. Next time, I know what to bring. (This place had wifi, extra awesome)

This is what I woke up to the next morning.

_MG_3163 _MG_3164 _MG_3166 _MG_3167

We’re now off to Seoraksan. It’s a rock mountain also in Gyeongju but far from this place. Our last destination for this trip to the province.

IMG_3176 _MG_3192IMG_3178

Ice cream sandwich. It’s getting warm.

IMG_3174

Very very huge Buddha.

IMG_3182

A bit blurry. Dad doesn’t care about the focus.

IMG_3185

Look at that rock mountain on the upper left. Beauty.

IMG_3187

Walked around for bout an hour while waiting for our cable car.

_MG_3193

Aw my dad was just washing his feet. Haha.

_MG_3191

So we rode the cable car then climbed the Seoraksan to its peak.

_MG_3206 _MG_3209 _MG_3216 _MG_3224 _MG_3225 _MG_3229 _MG_3231 _MG_3232 _MG_3234

If you fall off then you fall off. Bit scary but it’s super awesome. Be adventurous. It was very windy on top. Extra thrill.

_MG_3238 _MG_3240

Behind him is a mountain with bits of ice.

_MG_3243 _MG_3257 _MG_3259

Going back.

IMG_8491

That was it. We had sashimi and seafood by the East Sea then we went home to Incheon. The next day, we went for a quick shop at Namdaemun Market and then we went to Incheon International Airport to bring my dad because he’s going home already. My sister and I stayed longer.

This was in Namdaemun Market. I didn’t buy anything except for food because I can’t find a cheap backpack that I like. Also it’s so weird to shop with my dad.

_MG_3266

We rode the Seoul Metro going to Seoul Station then we rode the express subway going to Incheon International Airport. The express subway was so cool and it took us 48 minutes to reach the airport. When we reached the airport I met my dad’s cousin and halmoni(grandmother), and our 2nd cousin who is very annoying. I’ll tell the story on my next blog post–Still in Korea. We went to Everland. And I met all of my Korean cousins I’ve never met before.  

This is the Incheon Bridge. It was very beautiful and I wish I saw during the day but I didn’t get the chance to.

_MG_3275

It has been awesome. We were independent and free when dad left us to explore by ourselves. Wait for my next blog post. 🙂

xx

Leave a Reply

