Solo Flight: Arrival in Incheon

Arrival in INCHEON

Well here I am… In Korea… For 3 months.

You would think it’s an awesome thing and I do too. Going to a foreign land, studying their language and culture. But I’m not there yet. I’m still 2 weeks away from university and things are going remotely my way. I’m under my grandmother’s roof, so I have to obey whatever she tells me, or at least what I think she tells me. (e.g., eat a lot; don’t shower; wake up at 6AM to eat breakfast; Sleep with 6 layers of blankets; Drink warm water ALL THE TIME; eat Korean melon everyday) By the way, I’ve been eating a lot of rice since yesterday. Whereas back home, I wasn’t eating white rice; I was eating a normal amount of brown rice. Here, every meal means I have to eat 2 servings of white rice and I am only spared half servings occasionally. FAT GIRL FEELS. When I’m in my room, I can’t help but do a few exercise routines. I plan to lose a dramatic amount of weight this summer but this first week is already a big challenge. NGGHH

I don’t think I can do an apartment tour because my grandmother’s apartment is just dull. It’s really just functional–no design whatsoever. But here’s a look at the bathroom where it’s always a beautiful view whenever I take a shower. Charaught.


MNL – INC

It’s one of those memorable things in ones life where one travels alone for the first time. Being dropped off at Terminal 3 and saying words of goodbye to family members. Hugs, kind words… Seeing the car disappear into the distance.

OKAY that was too dramatic. Hehe. Our moment was pretty casual with a hint of rare emotion. I view this trip as more of an adventure than leaving home for a long time.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Sit like a lady?
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Ge Se & Tuts
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Kat, Ges, Me, Tuts, Syd

So I went directly to check-in and I thought that I could get through this process without a hitch. WRONG. My mom told me that I didn’t need to pay travel tax, but as it turned out, I needed to. IMPORTANT: If it has been more than a year since you came back from a foreign country, you would have to pay travel tax. I think everyone knows that, no? Lelz mom. So I didn’t have enough pesos with me but fortunately my condo was near NAIA so Syd and Ge Jin were able to hand me money. (2nd good bye, lolz)

The flight was okay… I didn’t have enough pesos again to buy ramen noodles so I settled for a mogu-mogu (Baka mabusog sa nata, Char). I was envious of that Korean across my row who was having his ramen. The smell of the ramen was wafting around the air. Gutom naaa.

Upon arriving in Incheon airport, I was kind of apprehensive on where to go because my memory of the airport was complicated because I wasn’t paying attention the last time I was there. But I handled it like a pro. There were English signs and arrows everywhere. Towards the immigration part, I saw a long queue on the ‘Foreign Passport’ area. Lelz. I’m loving my Korean passport. Took me literally 7 seconds to get through without speaking a word.

Okay so if you’re going to Korea alone for the first time, and you’re feeling apprehensive.

LAND – GO DOWN ESCALATORS – TAKE TRAIN TO MAIN AIRPORT – GO UP ESCALATORS – IMMIGRATION – LUGGAGE – TURN OVER DECLARATION FORM – GO TO YOUR ACCOMMODATION VIA SUBWAY, BUS, OR TAXI 

But seriously, anyone who can read will get to where they want to go.

TIP: I always tell this to myself and EVERY TIME I violate this simple self-made rule, shit happens. Never put anything on the counter inside comfort room cubicles. Because you might forget about it when you go out and 5 seconds after you remember it, your name is already being announced in the airport. #MaljaFailsInKorea

After I got my luggage I immediately logged in to my social media apps. I was so compelled to vlog and snapchat everything because everything was so cool Hahaha. SO I bought my T-Money (card for subway, bus) and rode the subway going home! I still remembered where my grandma’s apartment was so it went pretty smoothly. Gained some muscle mass from carrying my luggage (Couldn’t find the elevator, lol). It was fun. I’m used to doing things alone and that was just a whole new level of my independence.

WHERE SHOULD I GO TOMORROW? COMMENT BELOW

PEACE,

Malja

One thought on “Solo Flight: Arrival in Incheon

Leave a Reply

